Those recognized at the GMC PTO S.T.A.R. Awards!

April 2023 --

The GMC PTO Council is celebrating the volunteers who have given so much of their time and energy to our schools with the GMC PTO S.T.A.R. awards. This red carpet celebration took place on Thursday, April 20, and these amazing volunteers were recognized for all that they do for the district. Their friends and family gathered together with their principals, board members, and the Superintendent to present them with their awards. Here are those recognized at the PTO S.T.A.R. Awards:

Farmington Elementary School 

Jen McPhaul - Mrs. McPhaul is in her second year as the PTO President at Farmington Elementary, and she has served in many capacities over the years, including being the founder of Falcon Fest and the Chair for Falcon Fest Auction for 11 years. 


Scott McNeil - As the Farmington Cross Country and Track & Field coach, Mr. McNeil volunteers so much of his time to make sure that this program is successful. 


Bethany Furse - Mrs. Furse has lead teacher workshops, served as grade chair, been on various committees, and been a member of PTO every year. She always supports her students both inside and outside of the classroom. 


Lynne Finch - Mrs. Finch serves as the 4th grade ELA/SS teacher at Farmington, and she has made quite an impression. One individual shared, “She brings ELA to life with her lesson plans…she is a treasure to FES!” 

Forest Hill Elementary School 

Joni Hester - Mrs. Hester has been PTO president for two years and will serve one more year next year. She has also served as Vice President of Volunteers and News Chair. 


Sarah Ulrich - As FHES Cross Country and Track & Field Coach, Mrs. Ulrich spends countless hours volunteering for these students. She says as much as she loves running herself, she loves nothing more than seeing her runners’ hard work pay off. 


Mike Maggipinto - Officer Mike serves as the School Resource Officer at FHES, and he has been a Germantown Police Officer for 17 years. Everyone agrees that he goes above and beyond for the school each and every day. 


Jordyn Potter - Ms. Potter is a bright spot for her students. She loves building relationships with these students, and she also furthers these connections in Best Buddies, Forest Hills’ Sunshine Program, and book club. 

Dogwood Elementary School 

Cory and Amy Carter - Mr. and Mrs. Carter have been married for twelve years, and they both serve in various ways at Dogwood. Cory is a member of Dogwood Dads and regularly volunteers, and Amy has been Bookfair Chair and Movie night Chair with Dogwood PTO. She will serve a Secretary of Dogwood PTO next year. 


Melinda Henson - Mrs. Henson is the 5th grade Math & Science teacher at Dogwood. Community members shared that Mrs. Henson is incredibly dedicated to her students and her team, and she works tirelessly to ensure that needs are being met. 


Joye Phipps - Mrs. Phipps is the assistant principal at Dogwood, and one family shared that in all that Mrs. Phipps does, she never leaves anyone behind, saying, “Mrs. Phipps has gone above and beyond for my family.”

Riverdale School 

Elizabeth Richardson - Mrs. Richardson says it is “an honor” to serve on the Riverdale PTO board. She has also been room mom for all nine years at Riverdale. Next year, she plans to serve with the Houston High PTSO. 


Valerie Shimko - Mrs. Shimko serves as a full time substitute teacher at Riverdale for their STEM and science programs. Those who nominated Valerie said that the work she has contributed is immeasurable. 


Michael Bennett Sr. - Mr. Bennett has served in many avenues over the years, and his dedication promoted one student to ask his parents if he, alongside Mr. Buse “made millions of dollars” because of how hard they work. 


Ron Buse - Mr. Buse received much of the same praise as Mr. Bennett, with nominations coming in saying that they are both such a blessing to Riverdale, and they always have a smile to share.  

Houston Middle School 

Julieann DeMatteo - Mrs. DeMatteo is currently on the board as part of the Haunted Houston committee and is the President-Elect for the 23-24 school year. She also serves as GMC PTO VP of Communications. She is also the VP on the Germantown Orchestra Parent Group, and she said she is so grateful for all of these opportunities.


Amy Shackelford - Mrs. Shackelford has served as HMS PTO Treasurer for two years, HMS Pom Booster Secretary, and HMS Band Board for two years. She has served in many capacities over the years. 


Brian Fisher - Mr. Fisher is the assistant principal at HMS, and he serves the school in numerous ways. A HMS PTO volunteer said, “When I see him in the hallways during school hours, he is fist bumping and talking to the students between classes and showing his commitment to building relationships.” 


Spencer Nesvick - Mr. Nesvick is the Band Director at HMS, and he also oversees the HMS Colorguard. He is known for fostering an environment where his students feel comfortable to learn, grow, and perform, which contributes to both personal and group goals. 

Houston High School 

Aynsley Clark - Mrs. Clark has been an incredible volunteer for HHS boys varsity basketball. In nominating Mrs. Clark, one parent said, “Aynsley demonstrates servant leadership, teamwork, and reliability - all skills that make her a true asset to GMSD.”


Sherri Sands - Mrs. Sands has filled many roles, starting with her oldest son’s kindergarten class at Farmington years ago. She continued to volunteer at Farmington, but now she has been serving her third year as the HHS PTSO president. 


Timeka Craig - Mrs. Craig is the HHS Front Office Secretary and recently joined the School Culture Committee for HHS. She is known for going above and beyond and always having a positive attitude.


Ashley Kreitz - Mrs. Kreitz loves being a part of the Germantown community and volunteering for the Germantown Football League, and as a College and Career Counselor at HHS, she is known for going out of her way to make sure students feel supported.

The last award of the night is the Kristen Melton Legacy of Excellence Award. This award is in honor of Kristen Melton who tragically passed away in 2016. The person who is awarded this recognition must embody the qualities of kindness, selflessness, and tremendous work ethic that made Kristen so special. This year’s winner was Mandy Vezina who devotes her time to both Houston Middle and Houston High School. In nominating her, HMS PTO President Erin Avery shared, “She is passionate about our school district…she is highly deserving of this honor.” 

We are so grateful to these incredible volunteers and all that they do for our schools! To read more about these recipients and all of their hard work, click here. To see pictures of this red carpet night, click here.